Welcome to Our New Home!

I hope you like it! One thing that I love about wordpress is how easy it is to use categories/tags and customize the sidebar. I hope you like what I’ve done You’ll see that I’ve moved everything (even comments!) over from the old blog. Not only is it easier for me on the writing end, but I think it will also be easier for readers to go back and find things — especially those who are looking for particular types of information (i.e. they only want information on designing programs for homeschoolers or are just looking for book reviews). From now on, I’ll be posting all updates here.

Feel free to send an email or post a comment to let me know what you think!  It will continue to be a work in progress….

Explore posts in the same categories: News

5 Comments on “Welcome to Our New Home!”

  1. Maureen :) Says:

    I love the new, crisp look. Very lovely!

  2. Adrienne Says:

    Thanks! My next goal is to keep up the good work with updating regularly! I have a whole list of ideas I’m developing, though, so it’s all very exciting. :)

  3. Karen E. Says:

    I love the new look!

  4. Kate Says:

    Hi Adrienne,

    Love the new look! I’m a newcomer to the blog but this interface seems really easy to use. Anyway, I’m the head of children’s services at a library in MA and deal with a large homeschooling population. We’ve come to the conclusion that we really do not have a lot of resources for these families and we have no programming specifically geared for homeschoolers.

    For most of us in the children’s room, services to homeschoolers has left us conflicted. I think most of us harbor unknown and definitely unfair prejudice against homeschooling and, as a result, have not taken the initiative to provide a service to a population that needs them. More importantly, I think our staff is just remembering (with respect to this issue) that we are public librarians! We serve the public, regardless of whether or not we agree with their beliefs! And we should have open minds!

    So anyhow, we are trying to right our wrong, be better librarians, and reach out to our homeschoolers. Thanks so much for writing a blog (and a book!) on the subject……we definitely need guidance! Looking forward to reading more.

    Kate

  5. Adrienne Says:

    Oh, thanks! And I’m glad to hear that you’re thinking about doing some outreach. :) The homeschoolers in my neck of the woods really appreciated when we were just starting out by talking to them and trying a few small things. Like anyone else, I think they’re just glad to feel recognized.

    Personally, I first heard about homeschooling about twelve years ago when I moved to a new apartment where my neighbor was homeschooling her 9-year-old son. At first, I thought they must be crazy, but, through watching them and getting to know the son (Derek), I saw that what they were doing was really working for them. Derek was friendly and bright and interested in the world. Their life seemed very sane, not as harried as some families I knew who were always running here and there. For me, it was a really good first exposure to homeschooling and sparked a lot of the interest I’ve had since. I’ve met so many interesting and admirable homeschoolers – hardworking people who are raising great kids.

    But I know, too, that homeschooling feels like a huge leap to a lot of people. School is one of the primary institutions in our culture, and it’s hard to imagine life without it. A good first step for staff who aren’t sure about homeschooling is to focus on the kids. Libraries can make a tremendous difference in all kinds of children’s lives, but I think we can make a particularly strong mark on the homeschooled children who rely so heavily on us for resources. The more we can do to support their parents, the better we can help ensure that homeschooled children are getting the best education possible.

    The even better news is that most programs and services one might set up to serve homeschoolers will wind up serving plenty of other people – even teachers in institutional schools! – as well. More on all that as we go along….


Leave a Reply

